Healthy Living · Inspiration · My Journey

My Fitness Journey

The beginning of 2015 started off really rough. I will give you the short version of the story but if you want to read about it in more detail, you can read about it here
Last October we decided to put our house up for sale because my husband’s job was going under and his paychecks were bouncing, which made it really hard to pay our bills. We didn’t want to fall more into debt because we were already close to $10k in credit card debt. So in November our house was officially on the market and our plan was to move in with his widowed grandpa so we could help take care of him and get rid of debt. December 20th we moved into his grandpa’s basement and in January our house finally sold! Life was good. We were chipping away at our debt month by month. Little by little we were getting closer to financial freedom. We started to feel settled into our new lives. We loved living with his grandpa and felt like our family grew to a family of 3 to a family of 4. We were so grateful for his grandpa’s generosity and the opportunity to set our finances on the right track.
February rolled around and grandpa caught a cold and like out of nowhere that cold turned into pneumonia and in February we lost him. We were shocked because of how quickly his health declined. At this point we had no idea what our future had in store for us because as far as we had planned, we were going to be living with him for a couple of years to get rid of debt and establish a good solid savings account. From February until July, we had experience so much heartache and felt so lost as to what to do next. It was a very hard time for us.
July is when things began to change for me. July 20th was my 31st birthday and my best friend and I decided to really make our 31st year a great one! We wanted to make this year our greatest year yet, so we wrote down our goals and shared them with each other. We were determined that this year we were going to be our best selves.

  

After the night I wrote my goals down, things began to change for me. Within that next week, I felt like the Universe was conspiring to make my desires happen.

  
3 of the goals I had written down were:
1. Get in the best shape of my life

2. Create an extra stream of income that didn’t take me away from my family

3. Pay off credit card debt (10k)

That weekend after I wrote my goals down, I reconnected with one of my high school friends who was a Beachbody Coach. She had posted on Instagram how she was looking for new coaches to add to her team. We talked to each other on the phone and she told me about the Beachbody Coaching opportunity. I decided to sign up as a Coach that weekend and started my first Beachbody program (21 Day Fix) + Shakeology. Little did I know what I was getting myself into and how much of a positive impact this would make on my life and the lives of my family and friends around me. I signed up as a Coach because I knew this would help me keep myself accountable to what I wanted to do.

  
I started 21 Day Fix in July after my birthday and 3 weeks later of learning how to eat clean and healthy and making exercise a routine in my life again, my body began to transform! After I completed the program, I lost a pant size and I lost all of my pregnancy weight and finally toned up my body! I finally had the body I wanted to have for the longest time after having my son but just never committed to making health a priority. Not only did I have a physical transformation but I became more of a confident and happier person. I felt amazing and wanted to share my experience with the world. I became passionate about fitness and health. I became a believer that when you take care of yourself, you live a happier and more fulfilling life. I had more energy to be a better wife, mom, friend, daughter and teacher. My life has truly changed for the better.

  
The beginning of 2015 was very rocky for us but now I feel like we are only going up from here! 2016 has nothing but amazing possibilities and opportunities for my family and I and I can’t wait to see how it all plays out! 

  

Leave a Reply

