Healthy Living · Inspiration · My Journey

4 Tips to get you out of bed and workout in the Winter Time

4 Tips to get you out of bed and workout when it’s still dark outside

As a mom, it is way easier and better for me to wake up earlier to get in my workout. It actually sets the tone for my day and helps me to be more focused and energized to get what I need to get done, done!


Winter is here and I really hate how we have less sunlight during the day. It makes me sad. I hate that when I wake up at 5 in the morning it looks the exact same outside as it did when I went to bed the night before. Even though it is still dark outside, I have come up with 4 tips that has helped me to get my butt out of bed and start my day off right.


1.Go to bed at a normal time.

I have discovered that the later I go to bed in the evening, the harder it is for me to get myself out of bed. I recently figured out that if I go to bed any later than 11:00 pm, it is very likely I will hit my snooze button 10 times and not get up in time to workout. Now I make sure that I try to get in bed at a decent hour where I can have at least 7-8 hours of sleep. When I get 7-8 hours of sleep, it makes it way easier to get up in the morning and workout.

2. Sleep in your workout clothes

Every minute counts for me in the morning! If that means I can sleep 5-10 more minutes because I am already dressed to workout, then I will take it!


3. Make working out a non-negotiable

Whether you workout in the morning or at night, when you make working out a non-negotiable then it eliminates the feeling factor. I’m not a morning person. There are many times I would rather sleep in, but because I have made it a non-negotiable to workout in the mornings and keep my health a priority, I get up and workout anyways. No matter if I feel like it or not.

4. Have a workout buddy to help keep you accountable.

What a lot of people don’t realize is that when you have a workout buddy or an accountability partner, you are actually setting yourself up for success. I’m way more likely to skip a workout or eat awful when I have no one to keep me accountable to my health goals. Find a workout buddy, a friend, or your spouse to help you stay true to the goals you create for yourself.

Leave a Reply

