Healthy Living · Inspiration · My Journey · Parenthood

5 Ways for Busy Moms to Get Fit

As moms can attest, life gets crazy hectic once you start expanding your family and making little ones of your own. Before mommy-hood, you had so much time for yourself. You could go wherever you wanted, whenever you wanted without having to time everything around nap and bedtimes, so you weren’t the parent with THAT kid throwing a tantrum in the store.  

 

My hubs and I waited five years before having kids. Before mommy hood, I had plenty of time to workout. I used to run or go to the gym. Overall I ate pretty healthy and felt confident in my own skin. Even once we got pregnant, I was good about eating healthy for my little peanut growing inside of me. During pregnancy I would always make sure to exercise. When I got to 3rd trimester and my belly was super big, I stuck to walking the dog around the neighborhood. Health was my top priority.

 

Pregnancy does a number on a woman’s body. After having my son, my health went to the wayside because I was trying to survive. Later I would say that my focus was on being a good mom. It wasn’t until my son turned 2 that I finally had enough and wanted to feel more like me again. To have my body back.  

 

Here are 5 easy steps I took to feeling more like me again:

  1. START.

Probably one of the biggest struggle for most moms, or really anyone for that matter, is just simply starting. You must start to get momentum going. Make it a goal for yourself to start TODAY and not put it off. Start by throwing out all processed foods in your house and go out and buy foods that are fresh. Changing your eating habits can make a huge difference! Did you know that 80% of your results stem from how you eat? That is a huge percentage! You must fuel your body with the right nutrients to see the results you want. You cannot eat whatever you want and workout and expect to get the body you want. It doesn’t work that way. In addition to cleaning out your kitchen of all the processed junk food, start out with 30 minutes of physical activity to get your heart rate up. Put the kiddos in the stroller or in a wagon and go walking. Just get moving!

pic 4

  1. Find a workout you LIKE doing.

What I hear often when I coach other ladies is that they don’t workout because they hate it. I have good news for you, exercising doesn’t have to be dreadful! Exercising can be fun but you have to find something you LIKE doing. When you find an exercise you like doing, you will more likely stick to it. For me, I am not a huge fan of cardio but I LOVE weight lifting. I found a workout program that incorporates weight lifting. If you like dancing, go to a local gym and see if they have Zumba classes. If you don’t have the time to go to the gym, check out Beachbody’s awesome fitness program called Cize or their newest program Country Heat coming out soon! These programs are perfect for busy moms because all you have to do is push play. It’s like having personal trainers right in your home and you don’t have to worry about commuting to the gym or making sure the gym has a daycare for the kiddos. Exercising should be fun so find something you like doing and get started!

 

  1. Find a workout buddy.

Have you heard of the saying, “You are only as good as the people you surround yourself with”? This also applies to accomplishing your health goals. If you want to change and want to live a healthier lifestyle, then you need to surround yourself with people who have the same goals you have. It’s amazing the difference it can make when you have an accountability partner. It is harder to accomplish your fitness goals by yourself. We weren’t meant to do life alone. Find a friend who has the same goals as you. Someone who will help push you towards your goals on days you don’t feel like working out or eating clean. Find an accountability group that can help you accomplish your goals. I run monthly online challenge groups of ten women. We are all striving for the same thing: to be fit, strong and healthy. It’s crazy how much you can accomplish when you have a group of women just like you in your corner cheering you on! It’s empowering!

pic 5

  1. Know your WHY.

Not only is it important to have a great accountability partner or group to support you on your journey, but knowing the reason WHY you are doing what you are doing in the first place. Answering the question why will help you keep going when you feel like giving up. Your why is your motivation. I tell my ladies on day one of my accountability groups to think about their why and then write it down on an index card or sticky note and post it somewhere they can see EVERYDAY. This acts as an important reminder to keep going and keep pushing towards you goals.

pic 2

  1. Commit to a month.

Besides starting, staying consistent is the next hardest thing for most people to do. Remember this: all it takes is 21 days to form a new habit. 21 days is all you need to form a new habit and to get momentum. I think the hardest part for busy moms, like myself, is finding the time to workout and then sticking to it for a month. Here are some ideas on how to commit to a month of taking back your health: find a time that works best for you. Stick to that time so it becomes routine. When I first started my fitness journey, I committed to working out in the mornings before work. I would wake up an hour earlier and get my workout in so I didn’t have to worry about it later in the day. Now it has become a new habit for me. I may not always workout in the mornings but I created a habit of working out at least 5 days a week and have stuck to that because I committed to that first month.

pic 1

In a society where we want everything to happen right away, you must remember that this is a marathon, not a sprint. It takes hard work and consistency to have the bodies we want. It is possible to be a fit and strong momma. You can make it happen, you just have to make it a priority to start and stick to it. Remember we all have the same 24 hours a day, the difference is just how we use those 24 hours.

Quotes template (1)

 

If I can do it, so can you!

12022436_260226567643024_2054714758137750882_o
If you are needing help in getting started, I can be your momma gal pal. I run monthly online challenge groups for women who are needing that jumpstart. I also coach ladies 1:1 online. If you are needing a cheerleader, someone in your corner pushing you towards your goals, leave your email below or email me at christylandfitness@gmail.com. We weren’t meant to live life alone, we need a support system to help us accomplish our goals and dreams.

christylandfitness

Leave a Reply

